South African scientists have alerted the world about the Omicron variant. In detail, Omicron has since been detected in countries around the world. Thus,  various countries are imposing travel bans against people traveling from Africa. This is in a bid to lower the virus from spreading across the globe.

However, African leaders are opposing the travel bans imposed against the continent. They are accusing wealthy countries of imposing new restrictions on African countries instead of the vaccine doses the continent needs. Thus, Real Research conducted a survey on this matter. Here are the results.


  • 70.71% are aware of the travel restrictions imposed against African countries.
  • 50.61% say low vaccination rates in Africa have contributed to the spread of Omicron.
  • Travel bans should be removed immediately and introduce vaccines instead.
  • 38.54% say Southern Africa is a victim of unfair discrimination.

70.71% Know About the Travel Bans on African Countries

The Real Research survey asks the respondents if they are aware of the travel bans in Southern African countries. On this, 70.71% say they are aware. On another note, 29.29% say they are not aware of the issue.

Figure 1: Most respondents are aware of the travel restrictions against African countries

Likewise, the survey asks the respondents if they have heard about the newly discovered Covid variant, Omicron. Similarly, the majority 71.80% are saying that they have heard about the newly discovered Covid variant Omicron. Meanwhile, 28.20% of the respondents have not heard of the variant.

Low Vaccination Rates in Africa Are Contributing to the Spread of Omicron

For the next question, Real Research asks what contributes to the spread of the new variant in Africa. 50.61% say ‘Low vaccination in Africa has contributed to the spread of the Omicron variant’. Meanwhile, 18.92 disagree and say ‘No’. Following after, 30.47% say they are not sure.

Figure 2: Low vaccination rates in Africa are causing the spread of Omicron

In the same manner, the Real Research survey seeks to know what the public thinks about removing the Omicron travel bans. Therefore, the survey asks if Omicron travel bans should be removed and roll out vaccines instead. In order, Most definitely (35.74%), Definitely (19.09%), Not sure (32.71%), and Keep the bans (12.45%). Thus, the majority are saying to remove the bans and give vaccines instead.

Moving on, the survey asks the public if Africa is capable of producing its own vaccines. This can probably reduce travel restrictions against people traveling from Africa. On this, they are also capable of producing vaccines (31.46%). They still need assistance (29.34%) and ‘Not sure’ (39.19%).

38.54% Say Southern Africa Is a Victim of Unfair Discrimination

Many variants are still being discovered across the globe. Thus, most people feel it is unfair to hear about South Africa travel restrictions yet other countries have no bans. Thus, Real Research asks if Southern Africa is a victim of unfair discrimination. To begin with, 38.54% say ‘Strongly Agree’. Even more, 20.66 say ‘Agree’. On the other hand, 12.25% ‘Disagree’ and 28.64% ‘Not sure’.

Figure 3: Africa is a victim of discrimination

Lastly, the survey asks do you agree with travel restrictions against countries. As matter of fact the majority, 30.14% ‘highly agree’. Additionally, Agree (24.88%), Neutral (25.98%), Disagree (10.26%), and Highly disagree (8.72%).


Survey TitlePublic Opinion on Travel Restriction from Africa
DurationDecember 1 – December 8, 2021
Number of Participants50,000
DemographicsMales and females, aged 21 to 99
Participating Countries Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belarus, Benin, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Chile, China, China (Hong Kong) China (Macao), China (Taiwan), Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Greanada, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Ivory Coast, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lebanon, Libya, Lithuania, Malaysia, Maldives, Maluritania, Mexico, Moldova, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar [Burma], Namibia, Nepal, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Palestine, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Thailand, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen, Zimbabwe.